Backpacking / Southeast Asia / travel

Railey Beach

I joined the 4 English lads on a day trip from Krabi to Railey beach, we walked down to the jetty and jumped into a long-tail boat, which after a few random stop-offs got us to our destination. There was a tiny stretch of sand, which we walked along, admiring the cliffs and perfectly clear water around us, and started to follow the signs leading us towards Railey beach.

DSC05415

the view as we got off the boat

On our walk, I noticed a small wooden sign in the tree saying “Viewpoint and Lagoon”, with a small painted arrow leading up the rocky and muddy hill into the trees, accompanied by a thick muddy rope. The boys and I jumped on the chance and were soon climbing our way up the cliff, it wasn’t too hard at first, just very muddy. The viewpoint was stunning, just a small look-out peeking out through the trees, it felt very secluded from the busy pathway we had just left.

DSC05417

the lookout view

From there we headed to the lagoon, a supposedly secret lagoon, that not many people actually reach, and after seeing the climb we had to do to reach it, I fully understood why. The climbed descent was in 4 parts, with a small ledge breaking up each’section’. I would never have made it down alive if it wasn’t for the lads I was with, guiding me down the ropes, foot holes and standing below just in case I fell. Cheers boys!

DSC05420

looking down towards the lagoon

The climb was a vertical mud/rock cliff, with a few ropes nailed into the ground with tied footholds, I knew how dangerous it was, but stopping was not an option after I had made it down the first cliff. It was an assault course of holding your own wait, crawling through small muddy holes, and mentally willing my legs and arm to stretch so I could reach the next loophole, whilst holding into the fraying rope for dear life. I don’t have many clear photographs of the climb, mostly due to me almost being in tears and having the shakes, and they do not portray how muddy and slippy it actually was! My beach kaftan is still stained from the climb, despite possibly hundreds of washes since then!

As is always the case in Thailand, the temporary fear was worth it when we arrived at the lagoon. It was perfectly clear water, surrounded 360 degrees by giant limestone rocks covered in trees, with a small cave on the other side. We had the lagoon to ourselves, and promptly jumped in and swam towards the cave, where we joined the many others before us in writing our names on the cave wall using the red sandy rocks on the floor and of course covering James’ entire body in thick mud.. it was a hidden paradise. Before I knew it, it was time to start the grueling climb back up the rocks. It was a hard workout, pulling myself up the rocks and ropes (with the occasional leg-up and pull-up from the boys), it took me a while but when I reached the top, it was sweaty high-fives and relief all round.

DSC05428

Railey beach

We made our way back towards the path, down the original climb we had done hours earlier, and continued along the path we had originally planned to follow, towards Railey beach. It was lovely relaxing on the beach and playing in the waves as the lads played football, and reflecting back on how fun and dangerous that scary climb had actually been.

Before we knew it, it was time to head back to the boat. Once back at Krabi it was food time, with my favorite ‘meat-on-a-stick’ meal with spring rolls, followed by an open-mike night, UNO and beers on the hostels rooftop bar. It was a lovely evening, and I was glad it was how I spent my final day in Thailand. I had a 6am taxi booked to Krabi airport, at a whopping cost of 300 baht (about £6), ready for my early morning flight to Kuala Lumpur, where I was ready for a new country…

One thought on “Railey Beach

  1. Pingback: Melaka | Bunny Backpacker

Leave a Reply

