england / travel / Uncategorized / walking

North Yorkshire, England

I’m lucky enough to have family live in North Yorkshire, Which means I regularly get to spend time up there. I like to split my time up there between the hustle and bustle of Leeds City centre, and the beautiful country walks on offer.

My latest trip took me to Malham, which is a popular walk through rolling hills, rugged limestone rocks, farms, and even several waterfalls. It is the perfect place for walkers, bikers and for just generally being outdoors. It is a National Nature Reserve and is home to a unique community of rare plants and animals – the bird hide in particular is worth a visit.DSC01793

It wasn’t too hard a walk, about 5 miles in total, as I was there with family involving an age range from 13 up-to 40, we made it more exciting and climbed up the rocks rather than taking the steps to the top of the cliff.

The first main sight Is Malham Cove, which is breathtaking, it’s a huge curved amphitheatre shape cliff of limestone rock. It is around 260 feet high, and we watched several climbers tackle the rocks. It was the top of that rock that I was excited for, as there parts of the final Harry potter film were set, and I couldn’t wait to get my geek on and reenact the film.

DSC01826

DSC01816 DSC01822

We were lucky in that it was a sunny day, a rarity in February in England, however at the top of the rock we were pelted by hale and hit by the wind, but it didn’t take anything away from the beauty. You could see out over Malham for miles.

DSC01844  DSC01848

DSC01845 DSC01850

After making sure I’d had my potter fix, and taken in the views we continued walking across the fields and hills which surround the cove. The next main site to see is Gordale scar, which sounds very Lord of the Rings to me. To put it blatantly, Gordale Scar is HUGE! You can only really appreciate it’s size once you walk through the field and turn the corner into the Scar itself, which is actually a waterfall.

DSC01883 DSC01886 DSC01885 DSC01882

Apparently it was created during the Ice Age, and is around 15-16 million years old. The water levels are different throughout the year, but it can be climbed if you don’t mind getting a bit wet. Always up for a challenge I jumped straight in, although I didn’t get to the top it was still super exciting to be be standing on a rock amongst a gushing waterfall.

We had about an hour left on our walk at this point, and after having walked for a good few hours we decided it was dinner time. Eating my sandwiches and hot tomato soup in front of the Scar was incredible. It didn’t seem real, but like a set out of a James Bond movie!

DSC01907 DSC01904 DSC01911 DSC01953 DSC01957 DSC01939The next stopping point was Janet’s Foss, which a small waterfall not far from Gordale Scar, apparently the wood that it is nestled in is magical, and full of little fairies! I kept my eyes peeled but none were to be found, the area did feel magical though! On the footpath to Janet’s Foss a couple of tree stumps have become home to hundred’s of lucky pennies, you can add a coin and make a wish to the fairies… My Aunty told me that during the summer you can smell the wild garlic in the wood, and even swim in the pool. I definitely plan to return here in the summer. I love me some garlic!

The footpath from here continues on, through some more fields finishing nicely in a quaint English pub, where I quickly ordered myself a half beer and had a well deserved drink.

DSC01973DSC01971

If you are visiting England, make sure you get up North and see the beautiful sights it has to offer. I slept very well that night and made some lovely memories with my family. A perfect day.

Leave a Reply

